Salaries for opticians in Canada
Wage data for opticians.
Compare places, offers and schedules
A higher hourly rate can still mean less annual pay. Give each scenario its own paid hours and weeks.
First scenario
Second scenario
At 37.5 paid hours a week and 52 paid weeks a year. Both results use median hourly wages.
Before tax and deductions. Annual salaries stay fixed when hours change; their hourly equivalent changes. Monthly amounts are annual pay divided by 12.
Plan for an annual pay target
A $60,000 annual gross target at 37.5 paid hours a week and 52 paid weeks requires $30.77 an hour.
This compares published wage estimates with your target. It does not predict an offer, job availability, living costs or take-home pay.
Wages across Canada
Low, median and high hourly wages. These are wage distributions, not experience levels.
| Place | Low / hr | Median / hr | High / hr | Data period |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $17.80 | $39.40 | 2023-2024 | |
| Alberta | $17.36 | $39.40 | 2023-2024 | |
| British Columbia | $22.00 | $38.46 | 2023-2024 | |
| Manitoba | $21.16 | $37.86 | 2024 | |
| New Brunswick | $20.73 | $34.30 | 2024 | |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $20.43 | $38.51 | 2024 | |
| Northwest Territories | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Nova Scotia | $22.08 | $32.41 | 2024 | |
| Nunavut | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ontario | $17.95 | $42.80 | 2023-2024 | |
| Prince Edward Island | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Quebec | $17.00 | $36.50 | 2023-2024 | |
| Saskatchewan | $22.24 | $36.51 | 2024 | |
| Yukon Territory | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: Job Bank · Wage update 2025-11-19 · All amounts in CAD
Wages within a province
Compare Job Bank economic regions, then select a region in the pay planner above.
| Economic region | Low / hr | Median / hr | High / hr | Data period |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Athabasca–Grande Prairie–Peace River RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Banff–Jasper–Rocky Mountain House RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.96 | $30.79 | $39.34 | 2024 |
| Calgary RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.63 | $30.48 | $36.54 | 2024 |
| Camrose–Drumheller RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.43 | $29.28 | $33.55 | 2024 |
| Edmonton RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.34 | $29.71 | $35.28 | 2024 |
| Lethbridge–Medicine Hat RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.61 | $28.91 | $35.69 | 2024 |
| Red Deer RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.72 | $29.29 | $38.50 | 2024 |
| Wood Buffalo–Cold Lake RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cariboo RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.46 | $28.92 | $35.90 | 2024 |
| Kootenay RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lower Mainland–Southwest RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $23.00 | $32.00 | $39.00 | 2023-2024 |
| Nechako RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North Coast RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeast RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Thompson–Okanagan RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.19 | $28.94 | $35.81 | 2024 |
| Vancouver Island and Coast RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.22 | $30.58 | $37.04 | 2024 |
| Interlake RegionSmall Area Estimation | $21.90 | $26.60 | $36.79 | 2024 |
| North Central RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| North RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Parklands RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| South Central RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southeast RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Southwest RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Winnipeg RegionSmall Area Estimation | $22.42 | $27.90 | $39.51 | 2024 |
| Campbellton–Miramichi RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.61 | $27.45 | $33.10 | 2024 |
| Edmundston–Woodstock RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Fredericton–OromoctoSmall Area Estimation | $22.34 | $26.85 | $33.43 | 2024 |
| Moncton–Richibucto RegionSmall Area Estimation | $21.72 | $27.39 | $32.66 | 2024 |
| Saint John–St. Stephen RegionSmall Area Estimation | $22.22 | $27.96 | $33.81 | 2024 |
| Avalon Peninsula RegionSmall Area Estimation | $20.90 | $29.60 | $38.91 | 2024 |
| Notre Dame-Central-Bonavista Bay RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| South Coast–Burin Peninsula RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| West Coast–Northern Peninsula–Labrador RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Annapolis Valley RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Cape Breton RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Halifax RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.12 | $27.70 | $33.52 | 2024 |
| North Shore RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.32 | $28.93 | $39.23 | 2024 |
| Southern RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.27 | $27.49 | $32.99 | 2024 |
| Hamilton–Niagara Peninsula RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kingston–Pembroke RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Kitchener–Waterloo–Barrie RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $17.95 | $24.04 | $42.80 | 2023-2024 |
| London RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $17.95 | $24.04 | $42.80 | 2023-2024 |
| Muskoka–Kawarthas RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northeast RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Northwest RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Ottawa RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $17.95 | $24.04 | $42.80 | 2023-2024 |
| Stratford–Bruce Peninsula RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Toronto RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $20.00 | $24.04 | $35.00 | 2023-2024 |
| Windsor-Sarnia RegionLabour Force Survey - Statistics Canada | $17.95 | $24.04 | $42.80 | 2023-2024 |
| Abitibi-Témiscamingue RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Bas-Saint-Laurent RegionSmall Area Estimation | $26.08 | $31.38 | $37.01 | 2024 |
| Capitale-Nationale RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.76 | $30.83 | $37.10 | 2024 |
| Centre-du-Québec RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.37 | $31.43 | $38.09 | 2024 |
| Chaudière-Appalaches RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.07 | $30.66 | $36.96 | 2024 |
| Côte-Nord RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Estrie RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.78 | $29.97 | $34.10 | 2024 |
| Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Lanaudière RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.28 | $30.85 | $36.35 | 2024 |
| Laurentides RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.46 | $31.34 | $36.44 | 2024 |
| Laval RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.80 | $31.05 | $37.73 | 2024 |
| Mauricie RegionSmall Area Estimation | $25.56 | $30.00 | $34.30 | 2024 |
| Montréal RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.86 | $30.60 | $36.84 | 2024 |
| Montérégie RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.46 | $30.83 | $36.44 | 2024 |
| Nord-du-Québec RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Outaouais RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.60 | $29.90 | $34.62 | 2024 |
| Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean RegionSmall Area Estimation | $24.11 | $30.12 | $32.93 | 2024 |
| Northern RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Prince Albert RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.86 | $28.90 | $33.61 | 2024 |
| Regina–Moose Mountain RegionSmall Area Estimation | $22.72 | $30.88 | $37.38 | 2024 |
| Saskatoon–Biggar RegionSmall Area Estimation | $23.33 | $30.32 | $35.13 | 2024 |
| Swift Current–Moose Jaw RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
| Yorkton–Melville RegionNo estimate reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | — |
Source: Job Bank regional wage table · Wage update 2025-11-19 · All amounts in CAD. A regional wage describes the published area, not a particular employer or job offer.
Understanding these wages
The national median for opticians is $28.50 an hour. Among the provinces and territories with published estimates, British Columbia has the highest median at $30.82; Ontario has the lowest at $24.04. A median is unavailable in 4 provinces or territories.
Explore healthcare wagesThe median wage
The median is the middle wage when wages are ordered from lowest to highest. Job Bank’s low and high figures usually represent the 10th and 90th percentiles. They are not junior and senior salary bands.
Annual pay calculation
Hourly wage × paid hours per week × paid weeks per year. Monthly pay is the annual result divided by 12. It is a calculation for the schedule you enter, not a reported annual salary or take-home pay.
Source data and dates
Job Bank occupation 32100: Opticians. The annual update is dated 2025-11-19. Job Bank also adjusts wage estimates between releases to reflect changes in provincial or territorial minimum wages. Each row keeps its own data period; some estimates use a different source or method.
Source: Labour Force Survey - Statistics Canada. Reference period: 2023-2024.
Source: Labour Force Survey - Statistics Canada. Reference period: 2023-2024.
Source: Labour Force Survey - Statistics Canada. Reference period: 2023-2024.
Source: Small Area Estimation. Reference period: 2024.
Source: Small Area Estimation. Reference period: 2024.
Source: Small Area Estimation. Reference period: 2024.
Job Bank does not report a wage estimate for this geography.
Source: Small Area Estimation. Reference period: 2024.
Job Bank does not report a wage estimate for this geography.
Source: Labour Force Survey - Statistics Canada. Reference period: 2023-2024.
Job Bank does not report a wage estimate for this geography.
Source: Labour Force Survey - Statistics Canada. Reference period: 2023-2024.
Source: Small Area Estimation. Reference period: 2024.
Job Bank does not report a wage estimate for this geography.
Getting ready for your move
Explore our guides to arriving in Canada, choosing a phone plan and getting connected.